June 17 – Races at Saratoga Speedway

June 17 – Races at Saratoga Speedway

This Saturday night the fastest cars on the Island pay their first visit to Saratoga speedway as Columbia Fuels present open wheel night as the wingless Wilroc Lite Sprint cars along with the IMCA Modifieds and the Island Dwarf cars invade the Black Creek oval.

The lighting fast Sprint cars clip around the 3/8’s oval in the 13 second range have 19 cars that are battling for their season championship which is lead by veteran Jeff Montgomery who has won the first three main events of the season including back to back wins during the recent Strawberry cup weekend. Two local drivers compete in the Lites with Black Creeks Duane Zienstra who also competes in the wing Sprint car class as well as Campbell River’s Mark Stuart. Saturday night marks the 3rd race of the season for the Modifieds after their first race was rained out are led in points by Oyster River’s Chris Beaulieu who leads Travis Stevenson by 83 0points with Jeff Monks’ Jamie Pinto and Dano Bryant rounding out the top 5 in the season points race. Last race night for the Modifieds Beaulieu captured a dramatic clean sweep as after posting the fastest lap in qualifying he pulled off a 45 minute motor swap before going out and winning both the heat race and main event

This Saturday night also marks the 3rd race of the season for the Dwarf cars with Campbell River’s Stewart Lee the winner of the previous two main events.

Last Saturday night Action pages sponsored the night of racing entertainment as the Hornet cars; Mad Max, Crash to Pass and the Road Runners put together full night of exciting competitive racing which featured a clean sweep for one driver and three first time main event winners. The clean came in Hornet A racing with Carter Hintz posting fast time then pulled of wins in both the A heat and 25 lap main event while first time main event wins went to Isaac Davis in the Hornet C main and Arlend Berry in the B main. Heat race wins in the Hornet B racing saw wins going to Tyson Seggie, Wesley Pheaton and Randi Jocye while Serina Hintz made it a family sweep by winning the Hornet A b heat .

In Mad Max racing Courtenay’s Danielle Antonik, the current class point leader added to her point total by winning the heat race and 20 lap main event while the Road Runner class saw Ryan Guest win both the heat race and main event. In Crash to Pass action the third first time main event winner of the night saw Chris Campbell pull of the win in a entertaining 20 lap race with Rich Hutton also pulling off his first win in the 10 lap heat race… guest talk next time out for the Hornets, Mad Max Crashers and Road Runners comes July 1st and will feature the seasons first boat race along with the annual Big Rig Highway Thunder with special guest the original truck from the Transformer movie franchise Optimus Prime. After having his Road Runner heavily damaged Black Creeks Tristan Zienstra will finish the season behind the wheel of a IMCA Modified becoming one of the youngest drivers to race a Modified…. with the loss of one car the Road Runner class will soon gain another car as former Hornet racer Danika Lynn has purchased Ryan Guest’s ex road runner and should be making her debut in the nest few races…